Protecting Your Family's Future

Texas Implements New Process to Improve Payment of Child Support


Earlier this month, the state Attorney General’s office sent out notices to every non-custodial parent in the state who is behind on child support payments. It’s all part of a new process whereby delinquent parents can have their vehicle registration blocked if they are behind in child support payments by more than six months. Officials at the Department of Motor Vehicles say they will start denying delinquent parents in December.

Under the Texas Family Code, a delinquent parent may lose his or drivers license, as well as a professional license. This approach, however, is not without its critics, as many family law attorneys say that non-custodial parents typically need to drive to be able to work and pay child support. They also say that the Attorney General’s office can be very slow in reinstating parents who get back on track. Opponents of the measure also say that it makes visitation extremely difficult when the non-custodial parent cannot drive.

The state of Texas is typically at or near the top in terms of collection of child support payments, leading the nation for the last decade.

Contact Us

At the office of Linda Stewart Law, PLLC, in Baytown, we bring more than 8 years of experience to clients in south Texas. To learn how we can help, call our office at 281-420-8020 or contact us online. We offer an initial consultation at a reduced fee of $50. We accept credit cards and will set up a payment plan, if appropriate. Our offices are open Monday through Thursday, from 9 a.m. until 5 p.m., and until noon on Fridays. Evening and weekend appointments can be arranged upon request.

Se Habla Espanol | ASL and ESL Services Also Available

Speak Your Mind


Left Menu Icon
Stewart Law PLLC